Sehnsucht: The C. S. Lewis Journal, established by the Arizona C. S. Lewis Society in 2007, is the world's only peer-reviewed journal devoted exclusively to the study of C. S. Lewis and his writings. It exists to promote literary, theological, historical, biographical, philosophical, bibliographical and cultural interest (broadly defined) in Lewis and his writings. The journal includes articles, review essays, book reviews, film reviews and play reviews, bibliographical material, poetry, interviews, editorials, and announcements of Lewis-related conferences, events, and publications. Its readership is aimed at academic scholars from a wide variety of disciplines, as well as learned non-scholars and Lewis enthusiasts.
C.S. Lewis College, and its parent organization, the C.S. Lewis Foundation, offer this online, peer-reviewed journal to stimulate discussion concerning the relationship of Christianity to the academy and the arts. Following the lead of Lewis as expressed in his classic book Mere Christianity, the Foundation and its journal are pleased to be a meeting ground that celebrates the core commitment to Jesus Christ that is common to all Christians of historic faith.
The Journal of Inklings Studies is a leading academic journal on the Oxford literary circle known as the Inklings, and on their intellectual and literary debts and legacies. Established in 2005 (originally as the C.S. Lewis Chronicle), the journal has been publishing some of the best scholarship in the field, as well as original material by its subject authors. Runs from 2011 to present.
Mythlore is a scholarly, peer-reviewed journal published by the Mythopoeic Society that focuses on the works of J.R.R. Tolkien, C.S. Lewis, Charles Williams, and the genres of myth and fantasy.
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database is updated daily and features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full-text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for nearly 1,000 journals.
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources founded in 1994. Originally containing digitized back issues of academic journals, it now encompasses books and other primary sources as well as current issues of journals in the humanities and social sciences. It provides full-text searches of almost 2,000 journals.
Literary Reference Source Plus is a full-text database that combines information from major reference works, books, and literary journals as well as original content from EBSCO. Literary Reference Source includes thousands of plot summaries, synopses, and work overviews; articles of literary criticism; author biographies; full-text literary journals; book reviews; classic and contemporary poems and short stories; classic novels; author interviews; and images of key literary figures. Reference sources include: /p>
• Beacham's Research Guide to Biography and Criticism (six volumes)
• The Columbia Companion to the 20th Century American Short Story
• Continuum Encyclopedia of American Literature
• Continuum Encyclopedia of British Literature
• Continuum Encyclopedia of Children's Literature
• The Literary Encyclopedia
• The complete MagillOnLiterature Plus
• Merriam Webster's Encyclopedia of Literature
• The New Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics
• The Oxford Illustrated History of English Literature
ProQuest One Literature is the destination for all aspects of literature research, teaching and learning—providing the best tools and content available in the market to support today’s study of literature.
The MLA International Bibliography with Full Text offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books, and dissertations. It also includes a 1,000 full text journals, such as Applied Linguistics, Critique, Comparative Literature, Renaissance Quarterly and College Composition & Communication. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920s and contains over 1.8 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series, and 1,000 book publishers. Subjects consist of literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Listings on rhetoric and composition and the history, theory, and practice of teaching language and literature are also included. In addition to the bibliography, the database includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals; the association's proprietary thesaurus used to assign descriptors to each record in the bibliography; and a proprietary, searchable directory of noted authors' names, with links to brief descriptive notes.
An unsurpassed guide for researchers in any discipline to the meaning, history, and usage of over 500,000 words and phrases across the English-speaking world.
The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and usage of 500,000 words and phrases past and present, from across the English-speaking world. As a historical dictionary, the OED is very different from dictionaries of current English, in which the focus is on present-day meanings. You’ll still find present-day meanings in the OED, but you’ll also find the history of individual words, sometimes from as far back as the 11th century, and of the language—traced through 3.5 million quotations, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts, song lyrics, and social media posts. The OED started life more than 150 years ago. Today, the dictionary is in the process of its first full revision. Updates revise and extend the OED at regular intervals, each time subtly adjusting our image of the English language.
Please check our catalog of books, films, periodicals, and other resources before placing an interlibrary loan; If we don't have the resource you need in our collection, please click on the button below to fill out an ILL request. The library is unable to borrow class textbooks through ILL.
Sehnsucht: the C. S. Lewis Journal by 
