BBB sees trust as a function of two primary factors – integrity and performance. Integrity includes respect, ethics and intent. Performance speaks to a business’s track record of delivering results in accordance with BBB standards and/or addressing customer concerns in a timely, satisfactory manner.
Stanford University's Entrepreneurship Corner provides a free collection of over 1600 videos and podcasts, featuring lectures by today's Entrepreneurial Thought Leaders. Get started by browsing the videos at this link.
ERC is a nonprofit, nonpartisan research organization, dedicated to independent research that advances high ethical standards and practices in public and private institutions.
Search over 250 business and trade journals from around the U.S. to find information about companies, industries and trends. Coverage from the 1980s to current, updated daily.
The Consumer Expenditure Survey (CE) program consists of two surveys, the quarterly Interview Survey and the Diary Survey, that provide information on the buying habits of American consumers, including data on their expenditures, income, and consumer unit (families and single consumers) characteristics. The survey data are collected for the Bureau of Labor Statistics by the U.S. Census Bureau.
Consumer Reports offers scientific tests and ratings of thousands of products every year. More than 100 experts working in appliances, cars, baby & kids, electronics, foods, health & family, recreation & home improvement.
Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world. They conduct public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research.
The Annual Survey of Manufactures (ASM) provides key intercensal measures of manufacturing activity, products, and location for the public and private sectors.
County Business Patterns (CBP) is an annual series that provides subnational economic data for establishments with paid employees by industry and employment size.
The Quarterly Services Survey (QSS) is the only source of service industry indicator performance providing timely estimates of revenue and expenses for selected service industries.
Established in 1956 and today supported by close to 550 foundations, the Foundation Center is the leading source of information about philanthropy worldwide. The Center maintains the most comprehensive database on U.S. and, increasingly, global grantmakers and their grants.
Charity Navigator, America's premier independent charity evaluator, works to advance a more efficient and responsive philanthropic marketplace by evaluating the financial health of over 5,500 of America's largest charities.
Statistics; social, political, economic conditions in U.S.
Published annually by the Federal Government since 1878, the Statistical Abstract of the United States is the best-known statistical reference publication in the country, and perhaps, the world. You’ll find it behind nearly every reference desk in U.S. libraries as the authoritative go-to source. Librarians value the Statistical Abstract as both an answer book ("How much corn is grown in Iowa?") and a guide to statistical sources ("What organization has the most authoritative data on foreclosures?"). As a comprehensive collection of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States, it is a snapshot of America and its people.
In the spring of 2011, the Census Bureau announced that the edition that year would be the last one produced at government expense. Despite protests from librarians and journalists and despite petitions to Congress, the Census Bureau unit that published the Statistical Abstract was eliminated in November. Its elimination resulted not from a decline in popularity or perceived value, but from the need to reduce agency spending while supporting new and existing data collection efforts.
ProQuest has now taken on responsibility for updating and releasing this publication, the most used statistical reference tool in U.S. libraries.
The industry economic accounts, presented both in an input-output framework and as annual output by each industry, provide a detailed view of the interrelationships between U.S. producers and users and the contribution to production across industries.
FRED is a database of 823,000 economic time series from 114 sources. You can download, graph, and track data on topics such as CPI, GDP, inflation, unemployment, and more.
Company Information
Verify the company's name before beginning a search. Use a business directory to make sure that you have the complete company name and its correct spelling.
Click on Browse above the search box. From here, you can view market/industry research, commodity reports, company reports, and country data.
ABI/INFORM Complete is a comprehensive business database containing thousands of journals. The combination of products forms a business database package that offers full-text titles covering business and economic conditions, corporate strategies, management techniques, as well as competitive and product information. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
ABI/INFORM Complete also features search respected historical business journals for a unique perspective on topics covering corporate strategies, management techniques, accounting, marketing, advertising, ethics, case studies, and much more. Deep backfiles encompass full runs of some of the most important business journals of the last century, all in cover-to-cover full page images, just as they were printed.
ABI/INFORM Complete consists of:
• ABI/INFORM Global
• ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry
• ABI/INFORM Dateline
• ABI/INFORM Archive 1905-1998
• The Wall Street Journal, Eastern Edition
Check the Browse box on the right for company information and profile links.
Business Source Complete is a scholarly business database that provides full-text access to many peer-reviewed business related journals, including disciplines such as marketing, management, accounting, finance and economics. It provides detailed company information for some of the world’s largest public and private companies. Additionally, the database houses video footage from the Associated Press, dating back to 1930. Journal articles include information, such as financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
Westlaw Campus Research: Law is a legal research database that provides an array of interconnected primary and analytical law content to help students get a more complete understanding of the issue they are studying. Primary law includes access to federal and state caselaw, statutes, and regulations. Additionally, Campus Research provides access to thousands of analytical resources including American Jurisprudence, 2d., American Law Reports, and more than 800 law reviews and journals from law schools across the country. Research in nearly every academic discipline: business, marketing, accounting, criminal justice, health, social sciences, history, political science, and more; intersects with law. So all students can benefit from the comprehensive primary and analytical law-related sources readily available on Campus Research.
The U.S. Census Bureau offers the most comprehensive demographic data for the United States. The site includes information and statistics on the nation's population, housing, business and manufacturing activity, international trade, farming, and state and local governments.
FRED is a database of 823,000 economic time series from 114 sources. You can download, graph, and track data on topics such as CPI, GDP, inflation, unemployment, and more.
The U.S. Chamber of Commerce is the world's largest business federation representing the interests of more than 3 million businesses of all sizes, sectors, and regions, as well as state and local chambers and industry associations. More than 96% of U.S. Chamber members are small businesses with 100 employees or fewer.
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities. Our Reference tab includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map.
