The Instrumentalist is an American monthly magazine for music educators — focusing on scholastic band and orchestra — and performing artists and composers.
Classical Singer magazine began in 1988 as The New York Opera Newsletter. Interest in the newsletter grew rapidly and the demand for more information triggered the transformation into Classical Singer magazine.
(Print and Online) Access to all available issues online. The Journal of Music Theory fosters conceptual and technical innovations in abstract, systematic musical thought and cultivates the historical study of musical concepts and compositional techniques.
Access to all issues beginning in 2007 included with a subscription. An international, peer-reviewed journal dealing with all aspects of American music and music in the Americas.
Films on DemandThis link opens in a new windowVideos: Humanities, Social Sciences, Business, and Health
Films on Demand consists of 15,500 video titles (77,000 segments) in Humanities & Social Sciences, Business & Economics, Health, and Science. Also included is the new collection of United Newsreels which includes an additional 260 titles (1,250 segments).
USG institutions currently have access via GALILEO to the Films on Demand Master Academic Collection, while Technical Colleges have access to the Nursing Video Collection.
Some GALILEO institutions subscribe to additional collections from Films on Demand covering other subject areas.
JSTORThis link opens in a new windowJSTOR provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources founded in 1994. Originally containing digitized back issues of academic journals, it now encompasses books and other primary sources as well as current issues of journals in the humanities and social sciences. It provides full-text searches of almost 2,000 journals.
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text includes full-text articles and books for those studying theatre and the performing arts. This database was initiated by the American Society for Theatre Research, and the Theatre Research Data Center (TRDC) at Brooklyn College has published 14 volumes of the IBTD since 1984.
Titles in this database include:
• Dance Teacher
• Modern Drama
• PAJ: A Journal of Performance and Art
• TDR: The Drama Review
• Learning Through Theatre
• Theory and Performance
• Who's Who in Contemporary World Theatre
• World Encyclopedia of Contemporary Theatre
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database is updated daily and features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full-text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for nearly 1,000 journals.
ERIC (at EBSCOhost)This link opens in a new windowAbstracts, index, linked full-text, education
ERIC (at EBSCOhost), Educational Resources Information Center, database covers all aspects of education and educational research. ERIC provides access to education-related resources, including journal and non-journal bibliographic information. Journal articles are assigned ERIC numbers that begin with EJ (e.g., EJ777687). Non-journal documents are assigned ERIC numbers that begin wtih ED (e.g., ED493647). Types of non-journal materials indexed in ERIC include books; conference proceedings and selected presentations; literature reviews and bibliographies; Congressional hearings and reports; reports on federal/state standards, testing, and regulations; research reports; U.S. Department of Education and contractor reports; and working papers from established research and policy organizations. Materials indexed through July 2004 also included lesson plans.
The ERIC database is produced by the Office of Educational Research and Improvement (OERI), U.S. Department of Education. The EBSCOhost version of the ERIC database includes the searchable Thesaurus of ERIC Descriptors. The EBSCOhost version of ERIC is updated quarterly.
Through the ERIC Microfiche Digitization Project, more than 30,000 documents published on microfiche by ERIC between 1982 and 1992 have been made available in full text. The project is ongoing through March 2009.
TIP: From the EBSCOhost Databases menu, select both ERIC and The Professional Development Collection, a specialized database for professional educators that includes 350 full-text journals.
ProQuest Education Journals gives users access to over 790 top educational publications, including more than 615 of the titles in full text.
Offering complete information on hundreds of educational topics, this database offers complete text and images from journals such as:
• Childhood Education
• College Teaching
• Harvard Educational Review
• Journal of Athletic Training
• Educational Theory
Image articles include all the charts, tables, diagrams, and other graphical elements often used to enhance the editorial value of articles that focus on education topics.
ProQuest Education Journals covers not only the literature on primary, secondary, and higher education but also special education, home schooling, adult education, and hundreds of related topics.
Description
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials combines an index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion with ATLA's online collection of major religion and theology journals. This database begins in 1949 although indexing for some journal titles extends back into the nineteenth century. Full text is provided to many articles and book reviews, from journals selected by leading religion scholars in the United States. This database is produced by the American Theological Library Association.
Christian Classic Etherial LibraryThe mission of the CCEL is to build up the church by making classic Christian writing available and promoting their use.
(from website)
