Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database is updated daily and features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full-text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for nearly 1,000 journals.
Consumer Health Complete (CHC) is a comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content, including full text from many health reference books and encyclopedias and thousands of health reports as well as physician-generated videos and hundreds of medical images and diagrams. CHC provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic, and integrated medicine. This full-text database covers topics such as aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs and alcohol, fitness, nutrition and dietetics, children's health, men and women's health, and more.
Information provided in this database should not be viewed as a means for self-diagnosis or a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment.
Use this database to understand basic concepts taught in your courses. It's also a great database for the first step in your research process. It contains short articles from encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks and other reference sources on a wide range of subjects. Get started on your assignment or research project by learning about key people, places, dates, events, concepts, and ideas related to your topic.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides over 500 scholarly full-text journals focusing on nursing, allied health fields, and many medical disciplines. Patient education sheets from the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide are also included. Titles in this database include:
• Creative Nursing
• Issues in Comprehensive Pediatric Nursing
• Issues in Mental Health Nursing
• Journal of Advanced Nursing
• Journal of Child & Adolescent Psychiatric Nursing
• Journal of Clinical Nursing
• Journal of Community Health Nursing
• Journal of Nursing Management
• Nursing Ethics
• Nursing Forum
• Nursing Inquiry
The National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) advances science and health by providing access to biomedical and genomic information. The site allows researchers to search across several databases (see a full list of the databases).
ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source provides users with reliable health care information covering nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine, and much more. This database is designed to meet the needs of researchers at health care facilities as well as nursing and allied health programs at academic institutions.
Topics in ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source include:
• Cytology
• Nursing
• Nutrition
• Oncology
• Pediatric Care
• Pharmacology
• Public Health
• Radiology
This database also includes leading nursing and related publications, such as:
• Association of Operating Room Nurses. AORN Journal
• Journal of Nursing Scholarship
• Oncology Nursing Forum
• Journal of Gerontological Nursing
• Journal of Psychosocial Nursing & Mental Health Services
• Critical Care Nurse
• Journal of Speech, Language, and Hearing Research
• Physical Therapy
• Journal of Athletic Training
• Journal of Rehabilitation
• The Canadian Journal of Occupational Therapy
• Journal of Allied Health
• Applied Radiology
• Clinical Laboratory Science
• Dental Assistant
• Canadian Journal of Respiratory Therapy
ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source also provides evidence-based nursing information from The Joanna Briggs Institute (JBI). These include Systematic Reviews, Evidence Summaries, and Best Practice Information Sheets. The JBI's evidence-based approach opens a new world of education resources, with critical appraisal and meta-analysis that is highly respected and unquestioned in the field.
In addition, study paths are provided to find key topics and recommended reading. The curriculum-based topic tree connects users to appropriate articles on specific topics. A board of experienced nurse educators have hand-selected the most relevant results for a wide range of subjects.
Science & Technology Collection contains more than 830 full-text journals covering relevant aspects of the scientific and technical community. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 1,740 journals. Topics include aeronautics, astrophysics, biology, chemistry, computer technology, geology, aviation, physics, archaeology, marine sciences, and materials science. This collection contains many scholarly journals including Advances in Physics, American Scientist, Archaeoastronomy, Astronomy & Geophysics, Civil Engineering, Engineering Management Journal, Journal of Aerospace Engineering, Journal of Architectural Engineering, Journal of Applied Microbiology, Journal of Mathematical Logic, Journal of Theoretical & Computational Chemistry, Molecular Physics, Plant Biotechnology Journal, Quarterly Review of Biology, Space Communications, Spatial Vision, and many more.
Empowering a community publishing articles in all areas of Microbiology, including viruses, bacteria, fungi, parasites, protozoa, phage, archaea, anti-microbial research, symbiosis, environmental microbiology, microbiomes, and much more.
Search GALILEO
Document Delivery
Do you need an article or book that is not available at the Livingston Library?
You can place a document delivery request, and we will obtain it from another library for you. This is a free service for students and faculty at Shorter.
