Life and Teachings of Jesus: Web Resources

The Complete List of Biblioblogs and Biblioblog Top 50

The Livius.org website offers information on ancient history. There are currently 4381 pages. You will also find more than 10,700 original illustrations.

Top 50 Biblioblogs by Traffic

Founded in 1880, the Society of Biblical Literature is the oldest and largest learned society devoted to the critical investigation of the Bible. With over 8,000 members worldwide, it represents and convenes scholars whose work is the study of the Bible, its history, and its interpretations.

Theology on the Web provides free access to thousands of theological books and articles to over 3 million visitors a year. Their purpose is to make high quality theological material freely available throughout the world, thus providing Bible teachers and pastors with the resources they need to spread the Gospel in their countries.

The "Answering Islam" site is mainly designed for a dialog with Muslims, but many Christians read it as well and learn about some important approaches, topics and arguments.

The purpose of this web site is to set out all of the Christian writings that are believed to have been written in the first and second centuries, as well as a few selected from the early third.

This FRONTLINE series is an intellectual and visual guide to the new and controversial historical evidence which challenges familiar assumptions about the life of Jesus and the epic rise of Christianity.

A weblog dedicated to historical Jesus research and New Testament studies.

JewishHistory.org is a new Destiny website where one can study Jewish History online. Sourcing its material from Berel Wein’s successful audio lectures and books, as well as authoritative historical sources, these courses of study have been especially written and produced for ease-of-use.

The Jewish Virtual Library (JVL) is the most comprehensive online encyclopedia of Jewish history, politics, and culture. With more than 26,000 entries, the JVL is a one-stop shop for students of all ages interested in anything from anti-Semitism to Zionism.

The Logos Bible Study app contains a powerful Bible study and sermon prep platform that allows you to study Scripture and consult commentaries, devotionals, Bible dictionaries, and more—all from your computer, tablet, or phone.

Tyndale House, Cambridge, is an international centre for research that specialises in the languages, history and cultural context of the Bible.

The Biblical Archaeology Society (BAS) was founded in 1974 as a nonprofit, nondenominational, educational organization dedicated to the dissemination of information about archaeology in the Bible lands. BAS educates the public about archaeology and the Bible through its quarterly magazine, Biblical Archaeology Review, an award-winning website, and tours and seminars.

The British New Testament Society seeks to promote research of the New Testament and related writings

The Institute for Biblical Research is an organization of evangelical Christian scholars that fosters excellence in biblical studies within a faith environment.

EABS is a registered scholarly society for the academic study of biblical and cognate areas that is open to scholars from all over the world, from senior scholars to graduate students.

Founded in 1949, the Evangelical Theological Society (ETS) is a group of scholars, teachers, pastors, students, and others dedicated to the oral exchange and written expression of theological thought and research. The ETS is devoted to the inerrancy and inspiration of the Scriptures and the gospel of Jesus Christ. The Society publishes a quarterly journal, the Journal of the Evangelical Theological Society (JETS), an academic periodical featuring peer reviewed articles, as well as extended book reviews, in the biblical and theological disciplines.

The vision of the NTSSA is to be the scholarly home for those committed to the research and teaching of the New Testament and related writings, primarily in the context of South Africa and the African continent.

Founded in 1880, the Society of Biblical Literature is the oldest and largest learned society devoted to the critical investigation of the Bible from a variety of academic disciplines.

Published since 1920 by the Pontifical Biblical Institute in Rome, Biblica is a peer-reviewed, research journal and appears four times a year.
It is dedicated to biblical studies on the Old and New Testament, and intertestamentary literature, and covers fields of research, such as exegesis, philology, and history.

As the journal of the Institute for Biblical Research, the Bulletin for Biblical Research (BBR) publishes peer-reviewed articles in Old Testament/Hebrew Bible and New Testament and sometimes cognate literature from a range of historical and literary approaches.

The purpose of the Catholic Biblical Association of America (CBA) is to promote, within a context of faith, scholarly study in Scripture and related fields by meetings of the association, publications, and support to those engaged in such studies.

For over a century, the monthly Expository Times has distinguished itself from other periodicals by successfully combining an interest in all pastoral matters, practical and theoretical with the latest international biblical and theological scholarship.

The Journal for the Study of the New Testament is one of the leading academic journals in New Testament Studies. It is published five times a year and aims to present cutting-edge work for a readership of scholars, teachers in the field of New Testament, postgraduate students and advanced undergraduates. All the many and diverse aspects of New Testament study are represented and promoted by the journal, including innovative work from historical perspectives, studies using social-scientific and literary theory or developing theological, cultural and contextual approaches.

The Journal of Biblical Literature (JBL) is a quarterly periodical that promotes critical and academic biblical scholarship. Bringing the highest level of technical expertise to bear on the canon, cognate literature, and the historical matrix of the Bible, JBL has stood as the flagship journal of biblical studies for more than a century.

The Journal of Greco-Roman Christianity and Judaism is a peer-reviewed academic journal published by McMaster Divinity College.

The Journal for the Study of the Historical Jesus provides an international forum for the academic discussion of Jesus within his first-century context. The journal is accessible to all who are interested in how this complex topic has been addressed in the past and how it is approached today. The journal investigates the social, cultural and historical context in which Jesus lived, discusses methodological issues surrounding the reconstruction of the historical Jesus, examines the history of research on Jesus, and explores how the life of Jesus has been portrayed in historiographical reception and other media.

Neotestamentica publishes articles on all aspects of the New Testament, ranging from historical to hermeneutical and methodological studies.

New Testament Studies is an international peer-reviewed periodical whose contributors include the leading New Testament scholars writing in the world today. The journal publishes original articles and short studies in English, French and German on a wide range of issues pertaining to the origins, history, context and theology of the New Testament and early Christianity.

Novum Testamentum is a leading international journal devoted to the study of the New Testament and related subjects. This includes text-critical, philological, and exegetical studies, and investigations which seek to situate early Christian texts (both canonical and non-canonical) and theology in the broader context of Jewish and Graeco-Roman history, culture, religion, and literature.

SBL Central is a research platform to support participants in the entire interdisciplinary ecosystem of biblical, religious, and theological studies, including scholars, students, publishers, publishing associations, and libraries and their institutions

Studies in Christian-Jewish Relations is the journal of the Council of Centers on Jewish-Christian Relations and is published by the Center for Christian-Jewish Learning at Boston College. The Journal publishes peer-reviewed scholarship on the history, theology, and contemporary realities of Jewish-Christian relations and reviews new materials in the field. The Journal also provides a vehicle for exchange of information, cooperation, and mutual enrichment in the field of Christian-Jewish studies and relations.

Tyndale Bulletin is a peer-reviewed academic journal which publishes scholarly articles that make an original contribution to biblical studies and related disciplines. It is the journal of Tyndale House, Cambridge, a UK-based research institute and residential library dedicated to biblical scholarship.

A directory of academic internet resources on the New Testament, hosted by Logos Bible Software and edited by Mark Goodacre.

This FRONTLINE series is an intellectual and visual guide to the new and controversial historical evidence which challenges familiar assumptions about the life of Jesus and the epic rise of Christianity.

The Jesus Seminar Forum is an introduction to the research of the Jesus Seminar of the Westar Institute & a bridge to Jesus scholarship on line.

The synoptic problem concerns the literary relationship between the first three "synoptic" gospels of the New Testament: Matthew, Mark, and Luke. The Synoptic Problem Website surveys proposed solutions and provides a clearing-house for materials related to its resolution.

This Synoptic Gospels Primer is designed for students in college level courses on the gospels or anyone else interested in the "Synoptic Problem." It was created for undergraduate New Testament courses at Rutgers University (New Brunswick campuses).

The Resource Pages for Biblical Studies are intended as a resource for serious, scholarly studies of the early Christian writings and their social world.

This page is designed to help make commentaries, monographs and articles on the Gospel of Luke available to those without easy access to a theological library.

Goodacre offers a way through the maze, with the promise of emergence at the end, explaining in a lively and refreshing style what study of the Synoptic Problem involves, why it is important and how it might be solved. This is a readable, balanced and up-to-date guide, ideal for undergraduate students and the general reader.

Here are the books of the New Testament in the canonical order of the Bible, with links to the pages where you can find translations, the original Greek, commentary, and information on these books of the New Testament.

This HTML presentation of the Gospels texts is designed to be a teaching tool for introductory level classes in New Testament and Christian Origins.

Ancient Jewish views of Jesus encompass the diverse perspectives held by Jewish communities during the Second Temple period and beyond. These views range from recognizing Jesus as a prophet or teacher to rejecting his messianic claims. Various Jewish texts, such as the Talmud and writings of early Jewish historians like Flavius Josephus, offer insights into how Jesus was perceived within Jewish society and how his followers were viewed.

This article, with very minor modifications, was written by Dennis Duling, Professor Emeritus of Canisius College. It was published in the 2nd edition of Norman Perrin and Dennis Duling, The New Testament: An Introduction (Harcourt Brace Jovanovich,1982), pp. 4-35, now out of print. This excellent work, revised, expanded, and continually improved, is now published by Wadsworth and is in its 4th edition with Duling as the sole author

This article, with very minor modifications, was written by Dennis Duling, Professor Emeritus of Canisius College. It was published in the 2nd edition of Norman Perrin and Dennis Duling, The New Testament: An Introduction (Harcourt Brace Jovanovich,1982), pp. 4-35, now out of print. This excellent work, revised, expanded, and continually improved, is now published by Wadsworth and is in its 4th edition with Duling as the sole author.

Michael Bird and Joel Willits

Darrel Bock

James Crossley, Chris Keith, Anthony Le Donne

Bart Ehrman

Mark Goodacre

Nijay K. Gupta

Larry Hurtado

Craig Keener

Scot McKnight

James Tabor

Dan Wallace

Ben Witherington

N.T. Wright: