Digital Book Index provides links to more than 165,000 full-text digital books from more than 1800 commercial and non-commercial publishers, universities, and various private sites. More than 140,000 of these books, texts, and documents are available free.
HathiTrust Digital Library is a partnership of major research institutions and libraries. The digital library is a repository providing access services for public domain and in copyright content from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and partner institution initatives.
This collection includes over 3,000 books in 49 languages collected by the International Children's Digital Library Foundation, a non-profit corporation.
Select from a list of 441 works of classical literature by 59 different authors, including user-driven commentary and "reader's choice" Web sites. Mainly Greco-Roman works (some Chinese and Persian), all in English translation.
The OAPEN Library contains freely accessible academic books, mainly in the area of humanities and social sciences. OAPEN works with publishers to build a quality-controlled collection of open access books and provides services for publishers, libraries, and research funders in the areas of deposit, quality assurance, dissemination, and digital preservation.
Primarily a large book catalog, this is a project of the Internet Archive. The interface connects you to scanned versions of books from the Internet Archive and shows you places to find the books in print.
BioMed Central provides a collection of free, open access, mostly peer reviewed research articles from over 100 biomedical, medicine, health, biology and biotechnology related online journals. (Note: For a few journals, only the research content is free.)
Bepress Digital Commons is a database of full-text, open access scholarship that is curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions, representing thousands of disciplines and subject areas from architecture to zoology. It includes scholarship from hundreds of universities and colleges, including peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work. It continues to grow rapidly thanks to the contributions of researchers, librarians, faculty, and students who believe that scholarship is a community enterprise.
The Open Library of Humanities (OLH) is a charitable organisation dedicated to publishing open access scholarship with no author-facing article processing charges (APCs). We are funded by an international consortium of libraries who have joined us in our mission to make scholarly publishing fairer, more accessible, and rigorously preserved for the digital future.All of our academic articles are subject to rigorous peer review and the scholarship we publish showcases some of the most dynamic research taking place in the humanities disciplines today – from classics, modern languages and cultures, philosophy, theology and history, to political theory, sociology, anthropology, film and new media studies, and digital humanities.
Independent Voices is an open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.
Videos from the Library of Congress covering Biography, History, Culture, Performing Arts, Education, Government, Poetry, Literature, Religion, Science, and Technology.
TED is a nonprofit devoted to spreading ideas, usually in the form of short, powerful talks (18 minutes or less). TED began in 1984 as a conference where Technology, Entertainment and Design converged, and today covers almost all topics — from science to business to global issues — in more than 100 languages.
