LibGuides: Koine Greek: Basic Resources

Greek Readers

The primary benefit of these Reader's editions is the footnotes with basic dictionary glossaries for less-common terms located at the bottom of each page. Decker's Koine Greek Reader is not a reader's edition of the NT text, but instead presents graded readings from a variety of sources along with pedagogical helps.

Readers Greek New Testament by Richard J. Goodrich; Albert L. Lukaszewski
ISBN: 9780310273783
Publication Date: 2007-10-31
Based on customer feedback, A Readers Greek New Testament now includes a new Greek font for easier reading along with other features that make this a time-saver for studying the Greek New Testament. Ideal for Greek students and pastors, A Readers Greek New Testament saves time and effort in studying the Greek New Testament. By eliminating the need to look up definitions, the footnotes allow the user to read the Greek text more quickly, focusing on parsing and grammatical issues. This revised edition offers the following features: New Greek font is easier to read; Footnoted definitions of all Greek words occurring 30 times or less; Mini-lexicon of all words occurring more than 30 times; Greek text underlying Todays New International Version; Footnotes offering comparisons with UBS4; 4 pages of full-color maps. - Publisher.
The UBS Greek New Testament 4th Rev Ed: A Reader's Edition (English and Greek Edition) by Kurt Aland; Barbara Aland
ISBN: 9783438051509
Publication Date: 2005
The Reader's Edition combines the Bible text of the latest edition of the UBS4 Greek New Testament, edited by Barbara Aland, et. al., with a running Greek-English Dictionary, compiled by Barclay M. Newman. Features include: Running dictionary providing translations of all vocabulary items occuring 30 times or less in the New Testament at the bottom of each page; Translations given according to context; Definitions of idiomatic word combinations; Grammatical analysis of all difficult verb forms; Reader-friendly layout enabling the reader to transfer easily from text to dictionary and vice versa; An appendix providing translations of all vocabulary items occuring more than 30 times in the New Testament; Maps from the UBS Greek New Testament. - Publisher.
Koine Greek Reader by Rodney J. Decker; Rodney Decker
ISBN: 9780825424427
Publication Date: 2007-11-01
Providing graded readings in Koine Greek from the New Testament, Septuagint, Apostolic Fathers, and early creeds, this unique text integrates the full range of materials needed by intermediate Greek students. Its many features include four helpful vocabulary lists, numerous references to other resources, assorted translation helps, a review of basic grammar and syntax, and an introduction to BDAG-the standard Greek lexicon.

Textbooks

Greek New Testament

Society of Biblical Literature Greek New Testament
Logos Bible Software and the Society of Biblical Literature are pleased to announce the release of a new, critically edited Greek New Testament.

Supplementary Resources

The resources below provide supplementary help on the basics of Greek grammar and syntax.

Students may benefit from occasionally consulting these sources, but should use them only as supplements rather than as a substitute for the required texts. These resources may be most beneficial for those pursuing self-study of Koine Greek.

Dictionary of Latin and Greek Theological Terms: Drawn Principally from Protestant Scholastic Theology by Richard A. Muller

Ebook available at Livingston Library

ISBN: 0801061857

A Parsing Guide to the Greek New Testament by Nathan E. Han

ISBN: 0836116534

The Minister and His Greek New Testament by Archibald Thomas Robertson

Helpful, practical discussion of the use of Greek in homiletics.

Available in the Livingston Library Price Collection

ISBN: 0805413677

A New Testament Greek Primer by S. M. Baugh

ISBN: 0875520995

Theological Dictionary of the New Testament: Abridged In One Volume by Geoffrey William Bromiley

ISBN: 0802824048

An Introduction to New Testament Greek: A Quick Course in the Reading of Koiné Greek by Frank Beetham

ISBN: 1853993387

Linguistics for Students of New Testament Greek: A Survey of Basic Concepts and Applications by David Alan Black

ISBN: 0801020166

Basics of Biblical Greek Grammar by William D. Mounce

Available at the Livingston Library

ISBN: 0310287685

The Morphology of Biblical Greek by William D Mounce

ISBN: 0310410401

Cataloging and Reference Librarian

Timothy Bergman

Email Me

License

This work by Duncan Johnson is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License.

You may reproduce any part of it as long as credit is included. I encourage you to license your derivative works under Creative Commons as well to encourage sharing and reuse of educational materials.

Koine Greek: Basic Resources

Greek Readers

Textbooks

Basic Grammar Help

Beginning Greek Grammars

Intermediate Greek Grammars

Greek New Testament

Supplementary Resources

Cataloging and Reference Librarian

License