Please check our catalog of books, films, periodicals, and other resources before placing an interlibrary loan; If we don't have the resource you need in our collection, please click on the button below to fill out an ILL request. The library is unable to borrow class textbooks through ILL.
Journal of Criminal Law & Criminology is a student-run publication at Northwestern University School of Law that prints four issues annually and rests upon a century of scholarship devoted to the scientific study of criminal law and criminology. Since its inception in 1910, the Journal strives to capture the breadth and depth of legal scholarship on crime through the publication of legal articles, criminological research, book reviews, and symposia. The Journal is consistently ranked among the most influential legal and criminology publications and remains the most widely read and cited criminal law journal. Our broad readership of judges, legal scholars, criminologists, and practitioners composes the second largest subscription base of all the nation's law journals.
The Advances in Criminological Theory Series is the first series exclusively dedicated to the dissemination of original work on criminological theory. It was created to overcome the neglect of theory construction and validation in existing publications, as well as to further the free exchange of ideas, to broaden the discourse on traditional theories and to explore new insights that challenge old ways of explaining crime. The series ranges widely, covering theoretical growth from postulates to logically derived hypotheses to testing and analysis with particular emphasis on reformulations and new applications of existing paradigms. It is a rich collection that delves into the history of the discipline, organizes past and emerging knowledge, explores the current status of theoretical development and opens pathways for future exploration.
Since its introduction to the corrections community in 1987, American Jails Magazine has had the distinction of being the only national magazine focused solely on the day-to-day management and operations of local detention facilities. Although American Jails Magazine principally covers jail issues in the United States, on occasion articles are published that look at jail, prison and law enforcement operations in other countries. So in a sense American Jails is also a prison magazine and a law enforcement magazine for everyone in the law enforcement industry.
The International Journal of Comparative and Applied Criminal Justice (IJCACJ) publishes work on criminal justice using a range of theoretical methodologies and approaches, focuses on applied research, and adopts an explicitly comparative or international approach. Work published in IJCACJ draws on insights from Economics, Sociology, Criminology, Geography, and Organization and Management Studies, applied to a Criminal Justice context.
Scholarly articles and reports supporting research on crime
ProQuest Criminal Justice is a comprehensive database supporting research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends.
The database bridges theory with practice by providing information geared to those interested in careers in criminal justice, law enforcement, corrections, drug enforcement, rehabilitation, family law, and industrial security; as well as scholars and other researchers who study the causes, trends, and societal impacts of crime.
Content highlights:
• Addresses the need to bridge latest research with practice
• U.S. and international scholarly journals
• Corrections and correctional and law enforcement trade publications
• Reports, news, crime statistics, and crime blogs
• Almost half of the records available are in full-text
• Content continues to grow as full text content is added to increase the scope of this resource
National Criminal Justice Reference Service has citations and abstracts to federal, state, and local government documents, books, research reports, journal articles, and unpublished research in the field of criminal justice. Some publications are available in full text.
The Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics presents data from more than 100 sources about all aspects of criminal justice in the United States. These data are displayed in over 1000 tables.
Legal Source is an authoritative source for information on current issues, studies, thoughts, and trends of the legal world. Legal Collection offers full text for more than 250 law journals. This database provides information centered on the discipline of law and legal topics, such as criminal justice, international law, federal law, organized crime, medical, labor & human resource law, ethics, the environment, and much more.
Westlaw Campus Research: Law is a legal research database that provides an array of interconnected primary and analytical law content to help students get a more complete understanding of the issue they are studying. Primary law includes access to federal and state caselaw, statutes, and regulations. Additionally, Campus Research provides access to thousands of analytical resources including American Jurisprudence, 2d., American Law Reports, and more than 800 law reviews and journals from law schools across the country. Research in nearly every academic discipline: business, marketing, accounting, criminal justice, health, social sciences, history, political science, and more; intersects with law. So all students can benefit from the comprehensive primary and analytical law-related sources readily available on Campus Research.
Violence & Abuse Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to violence and abuse, including family violence, sexual assault, emotional abuse, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. Records are selected from sources within the discipline, such as: Child Maltreatment, Trauma, and Violence & Abuse. EBSCO has digitized the full archive of this index, bringing coverage back to 1995.
Finding tool for electronic and print publications from the U.S.government
The Catalog of United States Government Publications (CGP) is the finding tool for electronic and print publications from the U.S. government. These publications make up the National Bibliography of U.S. Government Publications. The CGP contains descriptive records for historical and current publications and provides direct links to those that are available online.
More than 500,000 records generated since July 1976 are contained in the CGP, and it is updated daily. The catalog will grow to include records for publications dating back to the late 1800s, making the CGP the central point for locating new and historical government publications.
The CGP was originally the online counterpart of the Monthly Catalog of United States Government Publications, which had been printed since the passage of the Printing Act of 1895. The print version of the Monthly Catalog was discontinued with the December 2004 edition.
For publications issued prior to 1976, the printed Monthly Catalog should be consulted. Print editions of the Monthly Catalog and many of the publications indexed in it were distributed through the Federal Depository Library Program. To locate the depository library nearest you, use GPO's Locate Libraries service at: https://catalog.gpo.gov/fdlpdir/FDLPdir.jsp
GPO is the authoritative national source for descriptive and subject cataloging for Federal Government documents. In creating full bibliographic records for the Catalog, GPO's Office of Library Technical Information Services (LTIS), Bibliographic Control Section (BCS) adheres to the bibliographic standards set forth in the Anglo-American Cataloging Rules, 2nd edition, Library of Congress Rule Interpretations, MARC21, CONSER, OCLC's Bibliographic Formats and Standards, 2nd ed., GPO Cataloging Guidelines, and other national standards.
Publications, Georgia government departments, agencies
Developed in 1996 as GALILEO's first digital conversion initiative and redesigned in 2009, the Georgia Government Publications (GGP) database serves as a digital repository of over 44,000 documents and publications released by agencies of Georgia's executive branch. The majority of the documents are scanned images; however, with the passing of an amendment to the law (O.C.G.A. 20-5-2) in 2000 requiring state agencies to submit publications in electronic format a greater percentage of searchable pdf files are included in the database and are noted as electronic text. Coverage encompasses audit reports, budget documents, monographs, newsletters, periodicals and serials from agencies including agriculture, arts, community affairs, courts, education, human resources, industry and trade, labor, legislature, natural resources and recreation. In addition to archiving Georgia state publications from 1994 to the present, the Georgia Government Publications database is currently adding pre-1994 serials on an ongoing basis.
The GGP requires the Adobe PDF plugin to view documents. To view the PDF files you will need Adobe Reader.
The Georgia Attorney General's Office maintains a web site of information on its staff, history, mission, organization, etc. The site also provides the ability to search the opinions of the Attorney General (1994-present).
Statistical registers for Georgia government, 1923-
The Georgia Official and Statistical Register, published from 1923-1990 by the Georgia Department of Archives and History, is commonly known as the Georgia Blue Book. Considered an important reference work for historical research, the Register covers Georgia's executive, legislative, and judicial branches of government, providing biographical sketches of elected and other state officials. Georgia members of U.S. Congress and federal judges are included, as are county officials and regents of the university system. The Blue Books contain election returns, provide basic reference data on Georgia counties, and cover Georgia miscellany, such as the state flag, state flower, state song, rosters of Georgia governors, and legal holidays.
