General Reference Materials - HIS 2060 – American Civilization II

Reference Sources

Reference books are works that either provide brief information or refer their readers to another source. The Rome library has an extensive collection of reference books in print. The Cobb branch has a print reference collection focused on business, management, education, and the social sciences. The Duluth and Riverdale locations provide more basic collections. If you do not find the information you need in the reference books at your location, please do not hesitate to contact a librarian at either the Rome or the Atlanta branch libraries.

Some of the online reference sources available to the Shorter University community are listed below, by type of resource (almanac, encyclopedia, etc.). These and other resources are arranged by subject in the Topics tab. Passwords to most resources are listed on the Library tab of SCHOLAR. For instructions on accessing eBooks (electronic) book off campus, click here.

Subject Specific Databases

Digital Library of Georgia This link opens in a new window
Georgia history and culture through digitized books, primary sources, photos, and video
The Digital Library of Georgia is a gateway to Georgia's history and culture found in digitized books, manuscripts, photographs, government documents, newspapers, maps, audio, video, and other resources.

Many of the materials are from the holdings of GALILEO member institutions.The Digital Library of Georgia continues to grow through its partnerships with libraries, archives, museums, government agencies, and allied organizations across the state.

To search or browse the holdings of the Digital Library of Georgia, visit the DLG homepage at: https://dlg.usg.edu/

A complete listing of digital collections available through the DLG is at: https://dlg.usg.edu/collections
History Reference Source This link opens in a new window
Articles, books, images, video, U.S. and world history
History Reference Source is a full-text history reference database designed for secondary schools, public libraries, junior/community colleges, and undergraduate research. The database features reference books, encyclopedias, non-fiction books, and history periodicals as well as thousands of historical documents, biographies of historical figures, photos, maps, and over 80 hours of historical video. Periodical titles include:

• America's Civil War
• American Heritage
• American Historical Review
• American History
• Archaeology
• Aviation History
• Beaver
• British Heritage
• Chinese America: History & Perspectives
• Civil War Times
• Foreign Affairs
• German History
• History
• History Review
• History Today (back to January 1975)
• History: Review of New Books
• Kansas History
• Journal of American History
• Manitoba History
• Military History
• Naval History
• North Carolina Historical Review
• Virginia Magazine of History & Biography
• Wild West
• World War II
Civil Rights Digital Library This link opens in a new window
American Civil Rights Movement; images; movies; articles
The Civil Rights Digital Library (CRDL) promotes an enhanced understanding of the Civil Rights Movement through its three principal components:

• a digital video archive delivering 30 hours of historical news film allowing learners to be nearly eyewitnesses to key events of the Civil Rights Movement
• a civil rights portal providing a seamless virtual library on the Civil Rights Movement by aggregating metadata from 75 libraries and allied organizations from across the nation
• instructional materials to facilitate the use of the video content in the learning process
The CRDL links to primary sources and other educational materials from libraries, archives, museums, public broadcasters, and others on a national scale. The CRDL features a collection of more than 30 hours of unedited news film from the WSB (Atlanta) and WALB (Albany, Ga.) television archives held by the Walter J. Brown Media Archives and Peabody Awards Collection at the University of Georgia Libraries. These moving images - about 450 clips - cover a broad range of key civil rights events, including the desegregation of Central High School in Little Rock, Arkansas (1957); the Atlanta Temple bombing (1958); Atlanta sit-ins (1960); Freedom Rides (1961); desegregation of the University of Georgia and Georgia Tech (1961); the Albany Movement (1961-1962); desegregation of Ole Miss (1962) and University of Alabama (1963); and Americus Movement (1963, 1965); Birmingham demonstrations (1963); among many other topics.

CRDL is a partnership among librarians, technologists, archivists, educators, scholars, academic publishers, and public broadcasters. The initiative receives support through a National Leadership Grant for Libraries awarded to the University of Georgia by the Institute of Museum and Library Services.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
access to nearly 3,000 digitized newspapers from 1789-1963
Chronicling America provides access to nearly 3,000 digitized newspapers. The site was developed as an Internet-based, searchable database of U.S. newspapers with descriptive information and select digitization of historic pages. Use Chronicling America to search digitized newspaper pages from 1789-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources founded in 1994. Originally containing digitized back issues of academic journals, it now encompasses books and other primary sources as well as current issues of journals in the humanities and social sciences. It provides full-text searches of almost 2,000 journals.

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of the United States in the Nineteenth Century
ISBN: 0684805006
Publication Date: 2000-12-13
Covers all aspects of 19th century history: population, politics and government, economy and work, society and culture, religion, social problems and reform, everyday life, and foreign policy are explored in A-to-Z articles.
Modern American Lives by Blaine T. Browne; Robert C. Cottrell
ISBN: 0765622238
Publication Date: 2007-12-26
This book seeks not only to acquaint students with the lives of a variety of influential Americans, both famous and lesser-known, but also to provide a comprehensive examination, through those lives, of the critical issues that determined the course of modern American history.
Encyclopedia of American Cultural and Intellectual History
ISBN: 0684805618
Publication Date: 2001-03-26
This Encyclopedia of American Cultural and Intellectual History surveys the richly layered dimensions of American life in a format that clarifies the many issues, ideas, movements and places that constitute the American experience. The Encyclopedia covers not only historic periods such as the Colonial era and the Reagan era, but also looks at cultural groups such as the working class and cultural institutions and forms such as the university and cinema.
Encyclopedia of North American Indians by Frederick E. Hoxie (Editor)
ISBN: 0395669219
Publication Date: 1996-11-20
Written by contemporary authorities, the volume features many Native American contributors - including eminent writers, tribal elders, scholars, and activists - with voices as distinct as their subjects, offering a deeper and more informed appreciation of American Indian life, past and present.
An Encyclopedic Dictionary of Women in Early American Films by Denise Lowe
ISBN: 0789018438
Publication Date: 2004-12-14
Examine women’s contributions to film - in front of the camera and behind it!

Quicklinks

General Reference Sources

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
reference, articles, general topics
Use this database to understand basic concepts taught in your courses. It's also a great database for the first step in your research process. It contains short articles from encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks and other reference sources on a wide range of subjects. Get started on your assignment or research project by learning about key people, places, dates, events, concepts, and ideas related to your topic.
GALILEO

HIS 2060 – American Civilization II: General Reference Materials

Reference Sources

Subject Specific Databases

Encyclopedias

Quicklinks

General Reference Sources