Skip to main content

British Literature I, Anglo-Saxon to Early Modern: Home

This LibGuide contains research help for students reading works from Beowulf and Chaucer to John Donne and John Gray.

Quicklinks

 

 


Please feel welcome to email any questions to library@shorter.edu

Ready Reference Resources

Interlibrary Loans

Please check our catalog of books, films, periodicals, and other resources before placing an interlibrary loan; If we don't have the resource you need in our collection, you can complete the interlibrary loan request form through the button below. The library is unable to borrow class textbooks or popular recreational reading and DVD’s through the Interlibrary Loan program.

 

Welcome and Contents

Welcome to this resource that will help you find research tools on early British Literature The contents of this guide include the tabs listed below:

  • Databases, Journals, and Articles--This page lists databases, journals, and particular journals articles subscribed to by the University that may be helpful in researching early British literature, including resources like the MLA International Bibliography and Christianity and Literature, a journal of religious literature through time.
  • eBooks--This page contains e-reference, literary criticism eBooks, and physical books in our collection that related to the study of early British literature.
  • Multimedia--This page has podcasts from the Folger Shakespeare Library, scanned manuscripts, and other video resources from and about authors and literary periods on your syllabus, like Anglo-Saxon literature and William Shakespeare.
  • Web Resources--This page contains free online educational resources on the early English Literature, including the performaces of Shakespeare's King Lear, guides on the history of literature, and resources on visualizing Chaucer and Arthurian myths.
  • Citation Help--This page gives information on plagiarism and how to cite in MLA.
  • Digital Class Resources--This page contains link to the websites and news articles on your syllabus, as well as a playlist of your assigned videos.

Galileo Video Tutorials

Loading

Shorter University Libraries