Skip to main content

American Literature, Post-1865: Home

This guide contains research help on works of american literature published after 1865.

Quicklinks

 

 


Please feel welcome to email any questions to library@shorter.edu

Ready Reference Resources

Interlibrary Loans

Please check our catalog of books, films, periodicals, and other resources before placing an interlibrary loan; If we don't have the resource you need in our collection, you can complete the interlibrary loan request form through the button below. The library is unable to borrow class textbooks or popular recreational reading and DVD’s through the Interlibrary Loan program.

 

Welcome and Contents

Welcome to this resource that will help you find research tools on American Literature published after 1865. The American literary movements covered in your American Literature II course include American Romanticism, Naturalism, Realism, Modernism, Post Modernism, the Harlem Renaissance, the Lost Generation, and the Black Arts Movement.The contents of this guide include the tabs listed below:

  • Databases, Journals, and Articles--This page lists databases, journals, and particular journals articles subscribed to by the University that may be helpful in researching American literature, including resources like the MLA International Bibliography and Studies in American Fiction, a journal of literature in the United States.
  • eBooks--This page contains e-reference, literary criticism eBooks, and physical books in our collection that related to the study of later American literature.
    • Primary Works of Literature--This page has links to primary works of American literature, like T.S. Eliot's poetry, which are out of copyright, biographies and resources on American writers, and some literary criticism texts on those works.
  • Multimedia--This page has video interviews, readings, and other resources from authors on your syllabus, like Ernest Hemingway and Alice Walker.
  • Web Resources--This page contains free online educational resources on the history of American literary movements, including the Library of Congress's American Memory and the American Society of Poets' website.
  • Citation Help--This page gives information on plagiarism and how to cite in MLA.

Galileo Video Tutorials

Loading

Reference and Online Services Librarian

Google Scholar